The UKCAT stands for UK Clinical Aptitude Test, and is required for entry to a medical/dentistry degree at many British universities.

The UKCAT is a computer-based test taken at Pearson Vue Centres between July and October every year.

Which Universities require the UKCAT?

Aberdeen, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Dundee, East Anglia, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Hull York Medical School, Keele, King’s College London, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Plymouth, Queen Mary- University of London, Queen’s University Belfast, Sheffield, Southampton, St. Andrew’s, St. George’s London and Warwick (grad only).

What is tested on the UKCAT?

The UKCAT test consists of 5 sections. The time granted to answer the questions in each section is reflected below, there will be an additional 1 minute of time granted per section to read instructions.

Section Questions Timing Scoring
Verbal Reasoning 44 22 minutes 300-900
Decision Making* 29 32 minutes 300-900
Quantitative Reasoning 36 25 minutes 300-900
Abstract Reasoning 55 14 minutes 300-900
Situational Judgement 69 27 minutes Band 1- 4